About Faculty

Faculty of Mining, Ecology, Process Control and Geotechnologies historically refers to the Mining Academy in Banská Štiavnica, promoted to the academic level by Maria Theresa, queen of Hungary and Bohemia, in 1762. This institution, probably the first university of its kind in the world, is the basis to which our faculty and university proudly avows.

In this context, it is necessary to perceive our faculty as an institution which proudly holds a significant position within mining academies in Europe.

As one of the three founding faculties, the Faculty of Mining, Ecology, Process Control and Geotechnologies (Mining Faculty in that time), was involved in the establishment and formation of the Technical University of Košice. The university has adopted part of rich and estimable mining and academic traditions that are internationally accepted via “Declaration of Spiritual Heritage Successors of the Mining Academy in Banská Štiavnica”.

On this deep and strong basis, our faculty provides education in traditional mining disciplines, including geology; mining; mineralurgy and environmental technologies; technologies in fuel and gas industry; mining mechanization, transport and deep drilling. Attending to growing society needs for the knowledge economy development, the faculty also provides education in attractive and requested study programmes covering economy of Earth resources; geodesy and geographical information systems; geotourism and mining tourism, informatization and process control; industrial logistics; and rescue, fire and safety techniques.

The faculty has balanced team composed of pedagogical, science & research and administrative staff, ensuring that students acquire all the necessary knowledge integrating them into the technical intelligence society. I believe that, besides obligations that university study requires, students of our faculty will spend here one of the most beautiful phases of their lives and reach one of their lifetime goals and successes.


Dr. h. c. prof. Michal Cehlár, MSc., PhD.

Dean of the Faculty